Mall series part 3: Back to the 80s… sort of.

Published July 24, 2016 by AntiqueMystique1

Although I can’t build a time machine I did the next best thing and snapped a picture of what clothing used to resemble during the late 80s/early 90s up until 1992 at the dawn of the grunge movement which was after my time.

I just had to return the size small black crop top because it was one of those annoying garments that kept creeping up whenever I breathed and I’d have to re-adjust it. I don’t mind my shirts to be a little bit on the snug side, but when buying new clothes from rue21 it pays to go one size up. I laughed when I glanced at the reason for my returned item: ‘changed mind’ on the sale’s receipt. I thought I said it was too small. Eh, either way it’s all good. 🙂

I had to get the freakin’ ray of sunshine tank top instead. They had one Def Leppard tank top in size large, but it was okay. If the store is out of them next time I can always go online.

The acid-washed Freedom Flex Jeggings I tried on were a size 0. The next size up was a 3/4 and they were too big. I like to try on Jeggings for proper fit long before I ever buy them. I don’t trust online size charts because they have been wrong. So, yours truly snapped a good ensemble and this would have been very typical, I’d say, almost a ‘must have’ teenage apparel when it was brand new back in the 80s and early 90s.

GnR tee and Jeggings 7-23-2016 rue21

Guns n’ Roses T-shirt and acid-washed Jeggings 7-23-2016

I don’t recall our rock t-shirts having a cracked distressed look about them fresh off the store racks. But these days this distressed look is in vogue as well. I don’t complain and here I stated I wasn’t a fan of Guns n’ Roses, yet I wind up coming across a Men’s size small tee of a GnR t-shirt with the Appetite for Destruction album cover depicted on the front. The image is intentionally made to look cracked and old. Now back in the day if you had a brand new rock t-shirt, then a teenager wanted it to look new for as long as possible. And the way to achieve this is to wash those rock t-shirts inside out and use something gentle like Wool-Lite laundry soap and in some cases, hand wash the rock shirt. Do not ever use bleach. I can’t stress this enough. I had ruined so many good articles throughout the years even when using bleach as instructed on the bottle. And nowadays what do our original rock t-shirts from back then look like now? Some are faded, others have snags, holes, stains, rips, etc. And there’s the dead stock vintage rock shirts which are astronomically over-priced even though they’re brand new, never worn.

Back in the old days a rock t-shirt from Hastings books, music and video would set a person back $20.00 pre-tax. Nowadays similar rock tees have gone down in price: $12.99, unless there’s a sale going on this may even cost less. The acid-washed Jeggings from rue21 will run about $19.99 per pair.

I mall-walked and heard a whistle of approval twice. However, when I looked, I didn’t see whoever it was and naturally assumed the person was whistling at someone else. I didn’t think there was anything special about what I pulled on today: jeans and a tank top and sneakers. I didn’t wear the heels nor open-toed sandals, but regretted not taking a light weight jacket. The mall is kept cold and it feels great coming in out of the summer heat. But after about thirty minutes, the chill will seep into one’s bones. And I waltzed by a pretzel place in the food court. Don’t tempt me. I am off of anything containing yeast and ‘enriched’ flour products since I’m highly allergic to both. But there was an advertisement for hot dog pretzel bites. Has anybody seen/ tried these? They look delicious, however, I don’t consume hot dogs anymore and haven’t for close to five years now. I didn’t pack my veggie or fruit snacks today so I waited to have supper when I got home.

If you ever happen to go to rue21 they have some awesome perfumes. I might like the scent of Rue Rocks and Candy Girl, but doubt I will ever spend $10 or even $13 for a small bottle and the chemicals—oh, man! If there’s ever a formula for these two scents I may have to create my own using essential oils and rubbing alcohol so I can steer clear of the harmful chemicals and that dreaded, “fragrance” ingredient that can translate to mean ‘anything potentially harmful’.

Rue21’s new perfume About a Girl I wasn’t a fan of, although it’s been their hottest seller by far and it just debuted a day or so ago. I’m more of an Exclamation (!) type of gal myself. It’s a classic perfume that debuted in 1987 and that’s the only chemically-questionable perfume I’ll use sparingly from time to time.

Ever wonder how to wear perfume? I guess there’s no right or wrong way. I always heard to dab some on your pulse points: underside of wrists, behind the earlobes, etc. And then I was later told you could also spray some in the air and then walk through it this way the scent clings to your clothes rather. It made sense and tried it like that. After a while though the scent dies off, at least for me, I don’t detect the perfume as strong. Makeup I don’t bother with it even though I did create my own face powder using corn starch and unsweetened cocoa powder. Go easy on the cocoa powder when mixing. I would have sifted this, but was too lazy to go the extra step, and for some awesome brown eye shadow I would likely use a little bit of cocoa powder and to set it, a smudge of coconut oil. I haven’t gotten around to making my own all natural lipstick shades yet. The farthest I’ve gotten was a soft pink lip gloss from crushed raspberries and strawberries mixed in with coconut oil.

As always thanks for liking, re-blogging, tweeting, commenting, sharing, etc. I always appreciate it a lot! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

