It’s the Brass Buckle… wait, it’s The Buckle…nope, it’s just “Buckle”.

Published March 11, 2016 by AntiqueMystique1

brass buckle clothes 1 This mall store was called “The Buckle”. Why I’ve called it the Brass Buckle for many long years is beyond me. And I finally brought my two expensive beloved new denim vests home. It appears as though I traveled back in time to purchase them. And out of all the clothes at the Buckle there was something about those two denim vests that was special. Maybe a long lost memory of “wish it had been around” back in the day, but these shredded and acid-washed vests wouldn’t have been seen in a high-end clothing store like the Buckle back in the 80’s/90’s. I found an old exterior picture of the former Buckle sign on Pentrist when randomly searching for an earlier image of this store. The Buckle’s typography has changed over the years. I prefer the way the Buckle sign used to look, but that’s because I don’t like seeing boring typography/ signs. Oh, and the Brass… eh, Buckle has always been expensive.

Yours truly wanted to treat myself for sticking with my Yoga and cardio exercises, which have yielded me… no, not six pack abs thankfully, that’s not my goal. But I have slimmed down than what I had when I first began exercising two months back. And has the weight been staying off? Yes and no. It just depends if I have those “cheat” moments and either consume natural sugar from the raw honey or from too much fruit at the wrong times of day. If I consume fresh fruit and/ or fruit smoothies in the morning then my body will burn through that natural sugar. However, if I mess up an have an apple for my dessert or fresh fruit late in the evening, then I gain it all back. So it varies from day to day.

I had a moment of inspiration while in rue 21. In the dressing rooms they post how a person could win $50 if you model their clothes and upload it to instagram or some other picture uploading website. And for us older folks, don’t forget to use your pound sign “#”. I know it’s a “hashtag” but, yeesh, hashtag reminds me of “hash browns”.

Rue 21 tops, alas, I don’t buy any if the fabric has polyester. I find that if it has a high content of plastics it will just irritate my skin. I haven’t found an all cotton top yet at rue 21. But from there, I have taken “after” or “getting there”  photos of my weight loss journey. I still have a long way to go before I’ll ever see those defined abs, which isn’t really my goal, per se, but hey, if it works, great! 😀

And there’s that part of me that was drawn back to the Buckle. I keep wanting to refer to it as “The Brass Buckle”. So, today was especially long on me. Not only did I get in some mall-walking, I also got in some irritating “people-loitering” in the aisles of Wally-world as well. I did price checking for a 1988 House of Coty perfume, Exclamation. It will always weave itself and its fruity hints of the late 80’s and leave a lasting impression of my older sister who has always been my biggest fashion inspiration and liked it at the time back in 1989. I haven’t found a pair of ‘hoop’ earrings yet that won’t pull down on my ear lobes due to heaviness, nor look like the thin hoops I remember seeing. I found some at Wal*Mart that were small and more like what I’m searching for, but only a few neon colors appealed to me. I did the price comparisons and went from the jewelry aisle back to where I found said last pair of jeans. $4.88 versus $19.98 for the jeans. The earrings came in a six pack, which for what they’re made of pot metal I felt the asking price $4.88 was excessive. There were more of those earrings in stock. I scrutinized the neon hoops. The earrings were painted pot metal and kind of on the ‘heavy’ side as far as earrings are concerned.

And hoop earrings are massive in size and heavy nowadays. They’re nothing like the smaller cute light weight pairs of yesteryear. I know I stated in my post I don’t/ haven’t shopped at Wal*Mart, and I that now makes me a hypocrite because I went there today. Since I was out in the area I refer to as “suburb/restaurants/shopping center nightmares” due to the heavy traffic and decided to cure my curiosity.

The pair of acid-washed I found are by “No Boundaries”, a very generic staple Wally word brand. I still have it in my head that $19.99 is steep for a pair of any new pair of jeans, however, it sure beats the dom perignon of $79.99-$200 and up from the other guys. I don’t want to say anything bad about the denim the Buckle stocks, but none of it appealed to me and I couldn’t see spending or putting anything else on layaway from them. The Buckle’s jeans were just too much alike in style, cut, and the prices are way too steep for the average working person. Now, I’m not downing their store. I think it would be an awesome place to shop with unlimited funds, try on and if a person finds something they like, layaway is always there, no matter the income bracket. What is dismaying is the discount rack which is a joke. It doesn’t offer much off the original price.

When I hunt for garments that appeal to me price is the biggest factor. Secondly, the material and texture. If it’s too stiff, scratchy, irritating, or feels like spun plastic, then I don’t even bother to pull it off the rack and look at it. Third, the quality. I know that the article doesn’t always need to be top notch. However, if its my hard-earned money that I’m dumping into a semi-nice wardrobe for any season, then it better last me long after I get it up to the register and pay for it. Like, it better last me two lifetimes over. But I realize that’s pipe dreaming when concerning made in China clothing.

Lets discuss the prices. Do I really want it that badly that I’ll pay a steep price? Do I really need it? And the last question; Will it last? Yeah, as long as I don’t look at the garment the wrong way. But the denim already has shreds in it. How long can it possibly ‘last’? Well, if well taken care of, I suspect it will last me a few years. I bought both of my vests in size large because I think in terms of future laundering. China clothing (especially Asian) runs so small and always has. The size large I was able to button the vests and it felt comfortable. The size small was way too small and I’m a petite woman. And when washed these articles may/ might not shrink. They are 100 per cent inferior cotton, not real, authentic sturdy cotton material the way it used to be once-upon-a-time.

The staff is top notch at the Buckle. I would highly suggest stepping in a Buckle store location, but there have been some disappointments and no resolution to bad reviews about their products when ordered online from countless folks. So buyer beware. Make sure you can go in person to try on some of these clothes and shoes. The Buckle does have some nice summer shoes and that’s all I’ll say about them. But the price turns me away instantly. I’d be insane to ever pay more than $20 for a pair of tennis shoes, albeit $50- 290 for a single pair of their signature sandals, boots, shoes, thongs (flip flops), etc.

I’ve been able to find Daytrip, BKE and a few other signature “Buckle” brands at my local thrift stores for a whole lot less, about $2.49-$4 for either a Daytrip top and BKE shorts. And on eBay, these articles don’t have hardly any resell value. I’ve seen a pair of Gemini Daytrip shorts for $25 Buy It Now. That’s getting cheaper, but still quite pricey when you add on the shipping. These shorts, when new, retail for $45.95 and up. I see them with less zeal than I had when I first laid eyes on their acid-washed shorts a while back. Thanks for liking, sharing, re-blogging, tweeting, commenting, etc. I truly appreciate it as always! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

