Skinny Jeans- my take.

Published February 19, 2016 by AntiqueMystique1

Well, I’ve definitely seen some variations before they were commonly known nowadays as “skinny jeans”. And I’ve even bought some stretchy skinny jeans in thrift shops. But what is it about them that makes them a health concern for women? And why should it just be about us women? What about the men that wear skinny jeans? They have calves to ya’ know.  It’s the tightness, for one. And secondly, some pairs of skinny jeans can cut off the circulation in the calves so some school’s of thought will propose. And there’s the exact opposite of views that say wearing skinny jeans have no health concerns.

As a society some of us women still walk on stilts on a daily basis or throw on a pair of those to go to special events or a night club. For the inexperienced high heel wearer (yours truly) they do feel like being on stilts, and what’s worse about high heels: over time they’ll destroy your arches and balls of your feet if you wear them on a daily basis.

I didn’t have to invest in high heels to compete in an office workplace setting, but am guilty as sin for owning a few for ‘in-the-future I may be happy to own some. I’ve heard more bad than good about high heels from both women and men alike over the years, especially when shoe shopping. I’ve even watched a video where a man explains why he doesn’t like seeing women (from his cultural standpoint) to wear high heels and he explained it best something to the effect of: “High heels are meant for the woman’s husband to only see and they come straight from the brothel districts and into the runways of New York and women are conditioned to believe that to achieve beauty they must wear them.” This same man also went onto explain his thoughts about women wearing makeup– rather he was disgusted seeing women damaging their health by wearing drugstore makeup, the kind that contains a plethora of potentially carcinogenic-causing ingredients. And he went onto add that natural vegan makeup is out there. It’s pricey, but he hates hearing women say, “I can’t afford it.” His reply was simple: “Save up for it. But if you want to wear the cheap stuff, go ahead.” I thought he expressed his views alright, but here again it all depends on how one was raised.

And when high heels are paired with skinny jeans that’s a tough call. I guess nowadays the phrase is “rockin’ that —-” whatever a person wears and looks awesome.

Am I fashion expert? Nope. Do I get paid to or am I given a deep discount or freebie products to review? Nope. I just love fashion and always have even though I’m very opposed to ever shed my ‘dated’ appearance unless I feel like trying something new.

And to be honest if you skim through Amazon, the people that do give their honest reviews for a product to try out or use or get it for nearly free (I have to assume)—I simply do not have a clue how they get chosen for that. But that’s going way off the skinny jeans topic.

Skinny jeans and where to buy them: Pretty much those can be found at any retailer, thrift stores, and even the more upscale clothing stores like the Brass Buckle. Nowadays its just ‘the buckle’ or the logo “B”. I don’t get why everything has been shortened over the years, especially when it comes to retailers and their store names. Keep it like it always was and let it remain a familiar staple. That’s my take anyway.

So can a woman or man look awesome in a pair of skinny jeans? Yeah, but for a man I’d highly recommend going with Stretch F***** Jeans by Lip Service. I know, it’s kind of a punk/Goth trend in way of clothing. Had I not bought a pair of these particular jeans even though they didn’t stock a woman’s variety that I was aware of anyway eons ago, I could write an honest blog about them. I wound up buying a man’s pair of these Lip Service stretch jeans and don’t know whatever became of them. They were my favorite pair of stretchy black jeans that resembled skinny jeans I’d say it was around 2001 or 2002. And they weren’t constrictive on the circulation nor bad for the calves when worn for long periods. They were black, very durable and went through many, many, many launderings without fading too terribly much and held up quite well I recall.

Now, the only bad draw back I had about Lip Service clothing line is double check your measurements BEFORE you place an online order. And always email your measurements to a reputable place. I used to do a lot of online “Goth” shopping at Ipso-Facto, a California Goth shop. I ordered from them sight unseen and always provided my measurements. One of the last articles I ordered from them was one of the last long gauzy black corset dresses they had in stock and it was expensive!

The back and forth emailing helped to ensure the size Medium wouldn’t be so terribly tight that I wouldn’t be able to get out of said dress. It was beautiful, all black with some inset black velvet, lace up front with black ribbon ties made by Lip Service, gauzy long sleeves that went kind of off-the-shoulder. Somewhere I do have a picture of me in said dress, but where it wound up after I moved is beyond me. I might have sold off the dress on eBay when I stopped dressing Goth.

I believe if you get a pair of skinny jeans in your size, then you should be fine. And be sure to wear a shirt that covers unless you don’t mind showing your behind or underwear to the world when in public. Skinny jeans paired with the right top can look great. They can even look smokin’ (my word for totally awesome), with an old original 80’s heavy metal/ rock concert t-shirt. There was something more form-fitting about those old rock t-shirts from back in my day and even before that and they were softer cotton. I still have a few original rock t-shirts from the eighties. The re-issues of rock t-shirts and heavy metal they come out with nowadays are either too large or way too small, and if they’re a ladies Junior t-shirt then forget it. Those are too constrictive in my opinion and don’t allow the skin to breathe. And it seems like the album art has been enlarged on all of the rock t-shirts nowadays and cracks easily with a second or third washing. And it’s equally bad if it the garment contains 10 or even 75 % polyester. Polyester is recycled plastics which is why I tend to avoid buying garments if they contain polyester. And if they’re complete polyester blend like leggings for example, I don’t waste my money. I try to opt for cotton whenever I can although I realize a lot of the garments out there do contain polyester blend material and the cotton nowadays is extremely inferior, scratchy, itchy, and doesn’t soften with repeated laundering.

Hope you enjoyed this post about skinny jeans. Thanks for liking, re-blogging, sharing, tweeting, and commenting. I always appreciate it. 🙂

2 comments on “Skinny Jeans- my take.

  • It’s funny how jeans styles change. During the 1960s I wore bell bottoms, just like everyone else, but you couldn’t pay me to wear anything even remotely like that now. I’m a straight-leg jeans gal all the way and don’t even like “boot cut”. I’ve never had any inclination to wear skinny jeans though, because they seem to only look good with heels and I’m strictly a sensible-shoes person.

    You are so right about cotton being inferior these days, no matter what the garment is. I do wonder: is it something they’ve done to the plant itself, making the thread inferior? Is all the blame on the weave? Or on the dying/finishing? Probably all three.

    • I agree. I actually had a pair of bell bottoms I would wear when I was sixteen. My mom hated them because my fashion sense– well, I don’t think I had any. But at least she didn’t have to worry I’d run around in skinny jeans letting my best assets be on display. I was extremely self conscious all throughout my teen years about how long my shirts were, how comfortable my jeans were and all of it was second-hand clothes. I don’t think I bought new clothes off the rack (or online sight unseen) until I was in my mid-Twenties, and by then, the materials and products were less than impressive since a lot of it was made in China. It is strange how the fashion industry pushes on everybody (not just us women) what style of jeans will be in vogue. For a while men wore painter’s pants. I could never see what was so sexy about a hammer loop attached to the hip on those jeans. Maybe I could see the allure if the man was good-looking even if he never lifted a paint brush in his entire life. I agree about the heels. I only reserve my flat heels for special occasions with a dress. When I do wear skinny jeans I pair them with nice tennis shoes or easy to get into boots on the days of the month when everything’s complicated. Thanks for your comment. I truly appreciate it. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

