Nail Art #2: stripes and glitters.

Published January 18, 2016 by AntiqueMystique1

stripe fingers for nail blog 1-17-16

I’m writing this to showcase the different designs you can create if you have a lot of time on your hands and love nail art. Time consuming? Yes. Frustration level? That depends on your level of patience, and if you can set aside one day to devote to nail art, it’s worth it. And with a lot of practice some of these styles will become less time consuming, especially if you have the right nail art accessories on hand like nail scissors, nail fashion tape (comes in many colors), a nail stamping kit, etc.

All I had at my disposal is… nothing fancy. I did have a few pair of nail scissors lying around. Since I’m still a newbie to the vast universe of nail art, I’m still adding to my collection as time allows. For now, I have to rely on my steady hand to create some stripes on my nails.

It’s only easy when you have a steady hand. Otherwise, the stripes won’t turn out as expected. I used a strip of Scotch tape and cut it down to size. Next, I applied my choice of color and allowed it to dry. Since I had very little luck with painting my nails white first, I simply applied the nail polish straight on my nails and peeled off the tape. There was a clean straight line. However, the hard part came in since I didn’t want to ruin what I just painted by using another piece of tape or allow it to dry thoroughly, so I hand painted different shades to fill in the stripes and it took me two hours.

I did try the marble water nail art and it didn’t turn out good I thought. I was able to get my nail polishes to create a bull’s eye when it hit the room temperature water, on my second try though, the nail polished dropped like a bead in the water. Plus, if you don’t cover your cuticle and around your finger in tape first before you soak it, the polishes will adhere your skin and is difficult to remove even with good acetone nail polish cleaner.

Hope you enjoyed this latest installment of my beginner’s nail art. Thanks for liking, re-blogging, sharing, commenting, I sincerely appreciate it. And if you have any tips, advice or suggestions, please leave them in the comment section. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

