Silverplate: More tonsil stabbers and spoons.

Published November 10, 2015 by AntiqueMystique1

Why do I keep calling the forks tonsil stabbers? Because they can be and the tines are very sharp! The spoons are vintage– I’m uncertain how ‘antique’ they are. But here’s the info I’ve gathered on the recent addition to this mismatched silverplate hodgepodge I keep adding to from time to time.

The spoons likely date anywhere between the 1930’s-40s (give or take). The forks might be a bit later, I wouldn’t say earlier because they don’t feel as durable as the 1880’s forks which have longer tines and are much sharper. However, simply because a silverplate spoon, fork, soup ladle or chowder spoon will have a date stamped on it like this, for example: Wm. and Rogers silverplate 1880 might not mean that it was produced in the late Eighteen-hundreds. It could refer to a particular pattern or style the silverware was made to look like. Now, I’ve seen a lot of tarnished silverplate and just about every spoon, fork, and knife I’ve stumbled upon will either be badly scored to gouged and therefore practically unusable… or if you like playing antique hostess, then the poor(er) quality of silverplate you may not want to display.

Yet, there’s so much silverplate that it literally can be mind boggling. And what price reflects a good piece of silverplate? It’s whatever the customer’s willing to pay for it. If you think $5 per spoon, fork or knife is worth it, then that’s how much you’ll pay. If you think $1 is a much better deal, then go for it. Personally, I have a saying: “It’s only worth as much as a person is willing to pay for it.”

Also, silverplate is being snapped up by silver/ metal collectors and then the silverplate is either altered into jewelry, sold for scrap metal or sold off by how many grams of silver a piece of silverplate contains. At least I’ve seen a few sellers state in their actions “xxx amount of grams in this silverplate.”

It’s my prediction that in the next few years or so silverplate won’t be as plentiful as it is today. However, my assumption of this could be way off. I’m just taking a guess. Here’s the “before” photo of the silverplate. This is before I soaked it in a scalding water bath with a sheet of foil underneath and a lot assistance from Arm n’ Hammer baking soda… (yep, I know) this could potentially ruin and/ or tarnish it further, but I’m not out to win any best displayed silverplate awards anytime soon.

silverplate forks spoons_before cleaning 11_9_15silverplate spoons and forks after cleaning

5 comments on “Silverplate: More tonsil stabbers and spoons.

  • A friend of mine once collected antique and vintage hotel silver which was a particularly heavy type of silverplate (as in, extra layers of plating to better withstand the continual usage.) Not only was it “better made” but of course all those old hotels are long gone so it’s a bit of history as well.

    • Ah, yes, I’ve seen some hotel silverware floating around in antique stores from time to time. I had no idea they were silverplate though. Yep, that would be history in and of itself, especially since the hotels aren’t around anymore. It’s good that there’s collectors out there that would cherish that hotel silverplate. 🙂

      • wow 🙂 I bet those are super fancy silverplate and sterling. I did find that one of the spoons in mine, I believe, its a ladle, might be from 1910 or around from that era. However, it’s in pretty bad shape but am happy with it regardless. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your comments. I sincerely appreciate them as always. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

