Hidden sugars in other foods: crackers, breads, etc.

Published June 16, 2015 by AntiqueMystique1

And just when I thought I had kicked that darned sugar habit, I uncover more hidden ingredients in common everyday foods. What’s sickening about it? Sugar is more addictive than cocaine so I’ve been told. So what else does sugar lurk in?

Crackers. Yep, there was a reason why these tasted less salty and more sugary. I very quickly did some fridge cleaning tonight.

Breads- store bought. Since I was really trying to quit consuming bread simply because it contains hidden sugar and dough conditioners to give it it’s elasticity, I’ve been bread-free for well over two years now. I simply won’t consume it or purchase anything made with commercial bread. When I do make bread at home, I use honey instead of sugar. I also love to make my own pretzel bread with a dusting of course salt on top. It tastes a lot like a big round pretzel, but dense (not spongy and puny like most store bought bread is).

Cereal is a huge one for raking in all the hidden sugars and I don’t ever consume them. Same with the flavored oatmeal packages which I believe depending on what flavor can pack 19 to 29 grams of sugar per serving alone.

Yogurt is another one loaded with sugars. Again, it might seem healthy since yogurt contains probiotics which is healthy bacteria your gut makes naturally too. However, if its flavored yogurt it will contain more than just sugar, but those nasty Blue Lake, Yellow Lake and Red Lake food colorings that are best avoided whenever possible.

Tortillas—I don’t know just how many hidden sugars are lurking in a package of tortillas, but they do have an usual shiny-like coating on them that to me, seems very gross. I suppose this is the dough conditioner used to make the tortilla pliable. However, after I found out how to make home made tortillas the other night, I am never wasting my money on store-bought tortillas again. And making tortillas from scratch is so easy! I won’t say that the clean up afterwards is a breeze because its not. But the hard work is well worth it. Just keep in mind home made tortillas must be refrigerated and/ or frozen.
I am sure there are many more foods, especially potato chips that likely contain hidden sugars just as they contain ‘flavor enhancers’ which is a gentle name for MSG (mono-sodium-glutamate). MSG has been my long time enemy that gives me migraines. Therefore, I have to be extremely vigilant on what kinds of food it might be lurking in. In fact, I believe there’s a condiment called “Ac’cent” and its nothing more than MSG. On a side note, ever feel hungry after you consume a pre-box dinner, TV dinner or anything else pre-processed? Scary thing is MSG not makes you crave more food, it can also make a person gain weight.

Thanks for reading, liking, commenting, sharing, re-blogging as always. I sincerely appreciate it. 🙂 Stay tuned and I’ll put up my recipe for home made tortillas and it will be a huge money saver in the long run.

2 comments on “Hidden sugars in other foods: crackers, breads, etc.

  • Leave a Reply

