How to wash and care for your hair, a primer.

Published May 28, 2015 by AntiqueMystique1

Believe it or not, a rock star pointed this out. Alright, you can *gasp* and… eh, whatever… so did I meet them in person? Sadly, no. I never got the chance. I’m just passing along what I’ve read and heard.

First: wash your hair twice a day in cold water (as cold as you can possibly tolerate it).
You can use any shampoo or conditioner, in fact, I believe what the anonymous rock star used was Jerri Redding hair care products and happily used Aqua Net hair spray like it was nobody’s business.

Second: a yellow colored hair dryer is your best friend! In the hair dryer industry the color made a world of difference as far as temperature settings were concerned and how much heat the unit would produce. The white color would get extremely hot, the yellow hair dryer was a step down according to the rock star.

I had a travel-sized orange One for the Road hair dryer years ago, and believe there was truth in this rock star’s claim about hair dryers and their heat output. My travel hair dryer would become hotter than Hades in less than five minutes, and would for no apparent reason, just kill over. I never did take into consideration the color of the plastic could have been why it overheated so often. I would have to wait for the hair dryer to cool off and then finish styling my hair. Talk about a pain in the… oh, well.

Third (and this isn’t from the rock star but from my own experience): one whole egg and some honey. Mix these two ingredients together and massage into your scalp and wet hair. Make sure its cold water you’re using. If its hot then the egg will ‘cook’ and you’ll be picking out pieces of egg white and yolk.

If the honey and egg mixture leave the hair feeling sticky, re-wash it using cold water and some apple cider vinegar which should take care of the residue. Proceed to shampoo and condition like normal, then rinse and towel dry.

Fourth: never comb your hair when its still wet. This is when your hair is prone to breakage and fragile. Wait until your hair is dry or use either your fingers or a large tooth comb or pick to gently detangle the strands.

Fifth: Use a good quality shampoo and conditioner, although I know its tough to resist the urge to buy that ‘sale’ item. I would highly recommend going to a beauty supply store such as Sally’s or visit your local hair dresser and see what they can recommend. All hair types are different.

Avoid washing your hair in hot water as this has the tendency to strip the natural oils from the hair root leaving it dry, brittle and dull. To restore luster try massaging a drop or two of lite olive oil between the strands as according to late natural path Bernarr Macfadden. But any type of oil might leave your hair feeling and looking greasy and unwashed, so you might want to use this sparingly or just skip it entirely.

During the winter:

Never leave the house in wet hair. The old wives tale goes that you’ll catch your death or pneumonia and I have heard this time and again. But it isn’t a good idea to walk out in cold weather with wet hair. Heat escapes through your head and always try to allow time to get ready to head out.

In the summer: dry your hair naturally outdoors and don’t rely on a hair dryer. If it’s a nice sunny warm day, this might help.

This is all I have for now. I might update this blog later on. Thanks for reading, sharing and liking.  🙂

5 comments on “How to wash and care for your hair, a primer.

  • I have to admit I could never wash my hair in cold water, as it needs to be done in the shower and I’m soooo a hot-water person, LOL. Had to giggle at the “don’t go outdoors with a wet head, you’ll catch your death of cold” one because I heard that nonstop from my mom the entire time I lived at home, LOL

    I am the world’s pickiest when it comes to shampoo. I have found only ONE fragrance-free non-sulfate shampoo but it is no longer sold in the USA; only in Australia where it is made. Unfortunately it costs a small fortune to “import” it from Down Under, not only for the shampoo itself (Alchemy Very Gentle Unscented Shampoo) which is the equivalent of $20USD for a 17-oz bottle, but for the postage for a friend to send it to me from Sydney… which combined with the cost of an international money order comes to double what the shampoo costs.  The manufacturer (Purist) used to have a USA distributor on the West Coast but a few years ago they stopped selling here.

    Shampoo is the only product I use on my hair; no conditioner, no styling stuff, no hair spray, no coloring, no processes.

    When I had ‘chemo curls’ several years ago I used to let my hair air-dry and loved the no-maintenance aspect of it (loved the curls too, as my hair is normally fine and straight as a string). It would look like *bleep* if I let it dry that way now though, LOL

    • I’ll have to look into that shampoo you mention. I normally rely on Sally’s beauty supply once a year. They talked me into a five dollar discount card, (ugh!) and so I accepted that. Never again will I spend $18 for a bottle of shampoo and conditioner (for hard water and well water). I wasn’t too impressed with the shampoo and may opt for something from a vitamin store next time.

    • According to Bernarr Macfadden, he recommended washing it in cold water, then really hot water, and repeating the process about once a week for men, about twice a week for us women. I have tried washing my hair in really hot water and don’t recommend it. Not only will it burn your scalp, but also damage your hair and make it feel like the consistency of straw.

  • I can’t stop laughing! This must have been a tip from an 80’s rock star! Remember what all their hair looked like. 80’s glam rock hair had a style (and probably its own postcode) of its own! I wasn’t allowed to go outside with wet hair either … lol!

    • Thanks, and yes, you are correct! 🙂 It was actually taken from a guy with a LOT of hair! And yep, it even needed its own street and city named after them too. (hah!) Yeah, me either. I always heard going out in wet hair was really bad for a person. Strangely enough, I still make sure my hair is dry before I leave to go anywhere and it doesn’t matter what time of year it is. Habit, I suppose. Thanks for posting! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

