Tonsil stabbers and Chowder: more silver plate silverware, part 2:

Published May 17, 2015 by AntiqueMystique1

I know… where’d I come up with a title to my second installment of silver plate silverware? The antique store, of course. The term ‘tonsil stabbers’ is new to me. I heard this while paying for a previous set of silver plate forks a while back and it made me laugh. Then I thought, “That’ll make an awesome title for my blog.”

And how does ‘chowder’ play into all this? Do I have a hankering for clam chowder? Nope. And since I can’t tolerate the taste of sea food 😦 anymore, I’m not even sure if I’d like clam chowder or be able to stomach it. Again, I was doing my usual research after I bought some big spoons and more tonsil stabbers for .29 cents each. And they stuck it to me with tax since I didn’t have a discount card. Total… drum roll, please… comes to $3.58. Ah… okay.  Well, its been another productive day. I didn’t get around to cleaning and polishing these until an hour ago (it’s late, by the way). I know I’m stepping out of my cut off time frame, but eh, can’t have everything be from the Teens. The end result is beautiful! If you’d like to find out more about silver plate and identify it, I’d recommend this book.

silver plate silverware

Silver plate silverware cleaned.

silver plate silverware

chowder spoons, tea spoon, forks. Silver plate.

9 comments on “Tonsil stabbers and Chowder: more silver plate silverware, part 2:

  • Do you use the Marsha Whitney silver protector strips in your storage spaces for silver? I’ve found them to be very effective, even when silver is stored in a drawer without being in a “roll”. When I had a china cabinet I had some sterling candlesticks on one of the shelves and even though it was a fairly large space, a few of the ‘silver strips’ reduced my silver-polishing schedule to once a year. 😉

  • No, I don’t. I didn’t even know those existed. I will search Amazon since I know most places where I live likely won’t sell them. That’s awesome to hear and a time saver too. Thanks for sharing that with me. 🙂 I forgot to add that the chowder spoons are likely from 1935 or so. I see I forgot to add that in my blog. Thanks so much for your comment! 🙂

  • Aww, I love this! Antiques have always been something I am drawn to. We are actually doing a blog post on a really cute antique store in just a few weeks, I think you’ll like it! So glad to have stumbled across your blog 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the kind words and stumbling upon my blog. 🙂 I look forward to reading your blog post on really cute antiques. I’ve been collecting them for many years and been drawn towards them as well. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

